The second Spider-Man: No Way Home trailer gives us a better look at five of the six Sinister Six villains – Green Goblin (Willem Dafoe from 2002’s Spider-Man), Doc Ock (Alfred Molina from 2004’s Spider-Man 2), Sandman (Thomas Haden Church from 2007’s Spider-Man 3), Lizard (Rhys Ifans from 2012’s The Amazing Spider-Man) and Electro (Jamie Foxx from 2014’s The Amazing Spider-Man 2), who’ve been pulled into the MCU from their own franchises after Peter Parker (Tom Holland) distracts Doctor Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch) during a spell and it goes horribly wrong.

Doc Ock’s immediate reaction to seeing Spider-Man in this universe is to fight him, before realising he’s not the same one from his timeline. While the two reach some sort of truce, Doctor Strange tasks Peter and his friends MJ (Zendaya) and Ned (Jacob Batalon) with rounding up the other villains running lose. Peter’s up to the job…until Strange tells him that each of these villains is destined to die fighting their own versions of Spider-Man, which means they will all be killed once they’re sent back home. “There has to be another way,” he says. “There isn’t,” Strange replies, “They’re a danger to our universe.” Spider-Man then attempts to thwart Strange’s attempts to send them back, which looks like it will only land him in another mess of his own making.

Directed by Jon Watts and written by Chris McKenna and Erik Sommers, Spider-Man: No Way Home releases in theatres on December 17.

Subscribe now to our newsletter