Everything That Made News In Entertainment From The South (June 14 - 21)

From trailers and teasers to new film announcements, here’s a quick recap of the week that went by
Everything That Made News In Entertainment From The South (June 14 - 21)

Dhananjaya announces the historic epic Nadaprabhu Kempegowda (Kannada)

After Kotee's success, actor Dhananjaya gears up for his next. The Tagaru star unveiled the poster of his upcoming historical epic Nadaprabhu Kempegowda earlier today. Based on the life of the legendary founder of Bengaluru, the film is set to be directed by noted filmmaker and theater artist Dr. TS Nagabharana.

Dr. MN Shivarudrappa and Shubham Gundala back Nadaprabhu Kempegowda under the Isvara Entertainment banner. Dhananjaya’s Daali Pictures and Karthik Gowda’s KRG Connects will present the project. Vasuki Vaibhav handles the music while Advaitha Gurumurthy cranks the camera.

The second single from Vijay’s The G.O.A.T. is out (Tamil)

Actor Vijay will be next seen in the action entertainer The Greatest of All Time a.k.a The G.O.A.T. On the occasion of the star’s birthday, the makers of the film announced the release of the second single ‘Chinna Chinna Kangal’. Composed by Yuvan Shankar Raja, the song seems to be an emotional ballad about family.

The G.O.A.T. is written and directed by Venkat Prabhu and is backed by Kalpathi S Aghoram, Kalpathi S Ganesh, and Kalpathi S Suresh under the AGS Entertainment banner. The film also stars Prabhu Deva, Meenakshi Chaudhary, Prashanth, Jayaram, Laila, Yogi Babu, and more. Yuvan Shankar Raja handles the music while Siddhartha Nuni handles the camera. The film is set to release on September 5.

Rakshit Shetty’s Ekam to stream on an exclusive platform (Kannada)

Rakshit Shetty’s Paramvah Studios announced the web series Ekamfour years ago in 2020. Set in the coastal region, the series was set to be a multilingual project, showcasing the lives of the people in the coastal belt of the South Canara region. The production house recently announced that the series will be released through an exclusive streaming platform through which audiences can access the series directly.

Ekam is created by Sandeep PS and Sumanth Bhat of Journeyman Films and will be released on July 13. It stars Prakash Raj, Raj B Shetty, Shine Shetty, Sanal Aman, and Prakash Tumminad, among others.

Tovino Thomas announces his next film Avaran (Malayalam)

Tovino Thomas has announced his next film after he was last seen in Nadikar. The actor will be collaborating with debutant Shilpa Alexander in the film Avaran. The makers released the first look poster of the upcoming film which sees Thomas in a traditional Indian attire sitting in a celestial background.

Avaran is directed by Shilpa Alexander and is written by Benny P Nayarambalam. It is backed by Jinu V Abraham under the Jinu V Abraham Innovation banner. Jomon T John handles the cinematography while Jakes Bejoy composes the music.

Diganth’s Powder gets a release date (Kannada)

The makers of the black comedy Powder recently announced that the release date of the film has been postponed. While the film was supposed to be released on July 14, the Diganth-starrer will now be released on the Independence Day Weekend on August 15. The film has been in the making for the past year.

Powder is written and directed by Janardhan Chikkanna and is backed by Karthik Gowda, Yogi G Raj, Vijay Subramanium, and Arunubh Kumar under the KRG Studios and TVF banners. The film will be the first project under the KRG and TVF joint venture. The film stars Diganth, Gopalkrishna Deshpande, Dhanya Ramkumar, Sharmeila Mandre, Rangaya Raghu, and more. Vasuki Vaibhav handles the music while Advaitha Gurumurthy cranks the camera.

Pushpa 2: The Rule gets a new release date (Telugu)

While the much-awaited action entertainer Pushpa 2: The Rule was intended to be released on August 15, the makers have now announced that the film will be released on December 6. The Allu-Arjun starrer is a follow-up to 2022’s Pushpa: The Rise and has already been delayed multiple times.

Pushpa 2: The Rule is written and directed by Sukumar. The film is backed by Naveen Yerneni and Y Ravi Shankar under the Mythri Movie Makers banner. Miroslaw Kuba Brozek handles the cinematography while Devi Sri Prasad composes the music.The film also stars Fahad Faasil, Rashmika Mandanna, Dhananjaya, and Sunil.

Pushpa 2: The Rule
Pushpa 2: The Rule

RJ Balaji announces his next with Million Dollar Studios (Tamil)

Actor and filmmaker RJ Balaji recently announced his next film as an actor on the occasion of his birthday. The noted filmmaker will be collaborating with Million Dollar Studios, the production house behind the films Good Night and Lover. The makers announced the yet-to-be-titled film with a poster that hints at a violent comedy.

New character posters from Kalki 2898 AD release (Telugu)

The makers of the sci-fi epic Kalki 2898 AD are gearing up for the release of the film on June 27. The makers have now released the character posters of two actors from the film, who were seen in a glimpse in the trailer. Shobhana will be playing the role of Mariam in the film. The tagline mentions that she has been waiting for Kalki like her ancestors. Anna Ben’s Kyra also received a poster, which describes her as a ‘lucky rebel’. The makers also unveiled a new release trailer, amping up the expectations.

Kalki 2898 AD is directed by Nag Ashwin, known for helming the biopic Mahanati. He co-writes the script along with Sai Madhav Burra. The film is backed by C Aswani Dutt under the Vyajayanthi Movies banner. Apart from Prabhas, the film stars an ensemble cast of Amitabh Bachchan, Deepika Padukone, Pasupathy, Kamal Haasan, Disha Patani, Rana Daggubati, Dulquer Salman, and Anna Ben. Santhosh Narayanan handles the music while Djordje Stojiljkovic cranks the camera.

Kalki 2898 AD
Kalki 2898 AD

The first single from Ibbani Tabbida Ileyalli is out (Kannada)

Rakshit Shetty’s Paramvah Studios is gearing up for the release of another romantic saga after the success of Sapta Sagaradaache Ello. The film Ibbani Thappida Ileyalli has been in the making for the past year. The makers have released the first single from the film. Titled ‘Oh Anahita’, the song is composed by Gagan Bedariya and is sung by Kapil Kapilan, who provided the vocals for the ‘SSE - Side A Title Track’.

Ibbani Tabbida Ileyalli is written and directed by Chandrajith Belliyappa and is backed by Rakshit Shetty’s Paramvah Studios. The film stars Vihan and Ankita Amar in lead roles along with Girija Shettar and Mayuri Nataraj. Gagan Bedariya handles the music while Srivatsa Selvarajan handles the cinematography.

Prabhu Deva and AR Rahman’s next titled Moon Walk (Tamil)

Actor Prabhu Deva and AR Rahman are set to collaborate again for the sixth time in a new film. Previously titled ARRPD6, the film has now been christened Moon Walk. The film is reportedly already in its second schedule, with filming occurring in Chennai. The film will see the duo return to a project after 25 years.

Moon Walk is written and directed by Behindwoods found Manoj NS, who also produces the film. It also stars Yogi Baby, Redin Kingsley, Arjun Ashokan, Aju Varghese, and more. Anoop V Shailaja will be handling the cinematography while AR Rahman will handle the music.

Related Stories

No stories found.