Lijo Jose Pellissery, Suraj Venjaramoodu, Kani Kusruti And Fahadh Faasil Win At Kerala State Film Awards

Experimental film Vasanthi, which is directed by Rahman brothers, beat other favoured contenders for Best Film. Actors Nivin Pauly (Moothon) and Anna Ben (Helen) won a Jury Mention.
Lijo Jose Pellissery, Suraj Venjaramoodu, Kani Kusruti And Fahadh Faasil Win  At Kerala State Film Awards

Today, the Kerala Government  announced the winners of its 50th State Film Awards. A total of 119 films were submitted, compared to the previous year's 104 films, This year's race included big-budget movies such as Lucifer, Mamangam, and the yet-to-be-released Marakkar Arabikadalinte Simham, directed by Priyadarshan and starring Mohanlal. Critical and commercial favourites such as Kumbalangi Nights, Thanneer Mathan Dinangal, Android Kunjappan Ver 5.25, Jallikattu, Moothon and more were part of the list.

This year's jury was chaired by cinematographer Madhu Ambat while filmmakers Salim Ahmed and Abrid Shine, cinematographer Vipin Mohan, editor L Bhoominathan, sound engineer S Radhakrishnan, playback singer Lathika, actress Jomol, writer Benyamin and Chalachitra Academy member-secretary C Ajoy comprised the jury.

Here is the list of winners.

Best Film: Vasanthi

Best Second Film: Kenjira

Best Director: Lijo Jose Pellissery (Jallikattu)

Best Actor: Suraj Venjaramoodu (Android Kunjappan, Vikurthi)

Best Actress: Kani Kusruti (Biriyaani)

Best Supporting Actor: Fahadh Faasil (Kumbalangi Nights)

Best Supporting Actress: Swasika Vijay (Vasanthi)

Best Composer: Sushin Shyam (Kumbalangi Nights)

Best Playback Singer (Male): Najeem Arshad

Best Playback Singer (Female): Madhushree Narayanan

Best Art Director: Jyothish

Best Sync Sound: Madhavan Nair

Best Popular Film: Kumbalangi Nights

Best Debutant Director: Ratheesh Poduval (Android Kunjappan Ver 5.25)

Jury Award for Best VFX: Sidharth Priyadarshan (Marakkar: Arabikdalinte Simham)

Jury Mentions include Music director V Dakshinamoorthy (Shyamaraagam), Nivin Pauly (Moothon), Anna Ben (Helen) and Priyamvada Krishnan (Thottappan).

Best Children's Film: Nani

Best Screenplay (Original): Rahman Brothers (Vasanthi)

Best Screenplay (Adapted): PS Rafeeque (Thottappan)

Best Child Artist (Male): Vasudev Sajeesh Mara, Sullu and Kallanottam

Best Child Artist (Female): Catherine Viji, Nani

Best Editor: Kiran Das (Ishq)

Best Cinematography: Prathap V Nair (Kenchira)

Best Dubbing Artist Male: Vineeth (Lucifer and Marakkar: Arabikadalinte Simha)

Related Stories

No stories found.